Every Knee Will Bow

This past year my pastor preached through the gospel of John. I loved every second of it. Now, at my university I am taking a class on the Gospel of John. I am also loving every second of that as well. My life seems to revolve around this book. A lot of my friends are new believers, this is always what I read with them to help them understand who God is and what He did and still does for us.

Now, back to the original point. When Pastor Steve preached from John 18, I picked up on something I had never seen before. He mentioned it as well, but it still makes me think till this day. That Jesus is this powerful. “Then Jesus, knowing all that would happen to him, came forward and said to them, “Whom do you seek?” They answered him, “Jesus of Nazareth.” Jesus said to them, “I am he.” Judas, who betrayed him, was standing with them. So he asked them again, “Whom do you seek?” And they said, “Jesus of Nazareth.” When Jesus said to them, “I am he,” they drew back and fell to the ground. Jesus answered, “I told you that I am he. So, if you seek me, let these men go.” (John 18:4-8) In verse 6, it says that “they drew back and fell to the ground.” For some reason to me this is so astounding. The LORD deserves all honor, and the Son is given honor in this way on Earth, even in the darkest part of his life.

Now, we who believe know that Jesus is LORD over all, but those who are not God’s elect will not know until it is too late. As Paul says in Philippians, “Therefore God has highly exalted him and bestowed on him the name that is above every name, so that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.” (Philippians 2:9-11) So, we see that this detail in John is only a foretaste of what is to come.

In fact, at this point Jesus as not yet ascended too glory. He is still in his earthly body, but once he dies and comes up from the grave. He will demand his glory. God’s glory is beautiful and no man can see it. But, one day we will se God’s glory, and we will dwell with the LORD forever. Praise God for his love and mercy in his dealings with us. Thank God for his will, and plans in our lives. Thank God for giving us his son. To whom every knee will bow, and every tongue will confess.

P.S. I am asking for those who read this to pray for my family, a couple people who are quite important to me are rather ill, and your prayers that God’s will would be worked out in our lives would mean so much to me thank you and as alway…

Soli Deo Gloria.

One thought on “Every Knee Will Bow

  1. Jon, I truly love the gospel of John as well. It is an incredible book that has impacted me so much this school year. Thank you for sharing what you have learned from your readings and your pastor. I cannot wait to bow down before God and behold his glory, I so look forward to that moment.
    I will for sure lift up your family in prayer. May God bless you and protect you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment